Voice Your Concern over WV HB 2007

West Virginia HB 2007 is expected to be on the Senate Government Organization Committee agenda this week. This bill, which would allow “for people with contractor and occupational licenses in other states the ability to work in West Virginia without state board approvals made it out of committee Friday,” reported Steven Adams of the Parkersburg News and Sentinel.

We need to immediately begin calls and emails to voice our strong opposition to this legislation. If you call the Senator’s office, leave a message with their secretary or voice mail. If you do not want to call, send an email.

You can use this letter as a template or make your own. Key message points on the bill are:

  • Negative impact on public health, safety, and welfare in WV by reducing the minimum requirements for various professions.
  • Perception of a reduced standard for registration of WV professionals could impact reciprocity w/other states. This would have a negative impact on WV businesses.
  • This bill effectively delegates the responsibility to establish minimum standards to protect the public to other states.
  • This bill creates the opportunity for an uneven playing field by establishing higher requirements for our in-state residents seeking registration as opposed to someone moving into the state.
  • How will the boards determine if someone “intends” to move to WV?

We only need to contact the Senators on the Government Organization committee for now. The phone numbers and email addresses are below.

Tell them your name, your profession, where you work and why you are opposed to HB 2007. If you live or work in their district, you should mention it.

Here are the phone numbers and emails for the Senators on the Government Organization committee:

Mike Caputo
(304) 357-7961
mike.caputo@wvsenate.gov

William Ihlenfeld
(304) 357-7918
william.ihlenfeld@wvsenate.gov

Glenn Jeffries
(304) 357-7866
glenn.jeffries@wvsenate.gov

Mike Maroney
(304) 357-7902
mike.maroney@wvsenate.gov

Patrick Martin
(304) 357-7845
patrick.martin@wvsenate.gov

Mark R. Maynard
(304) 357-7808
Mark.Maynard@wvsenate.gov

Eric Nelson
(304) 357-7854
eric.nelson@wvsenate.gov

Randy Smith
(304) 357-7995
randy.smith@wvsenate.gov

David Stover
(304) 357-7807
david.stover@wvsenate.gov

Chandler Swope
(304) 357-7843
chandler.swope@wvsenate.gov

Dave Sypolt
(304) 357-7914
dave.sypolt@wvsenate.gov

Mike Woelfel
(304) 357-7956
mike.woelfel@wvsenate.gov

Jack Woodrum
(304) 357-7849
jack.woodrum@wvsenate.gov

Richard Lindsay
(304) 357-7841
richard.lindsay@wvsenate.gov

© 2020: WVSPS, All Rights Reserved | Innovation Theme by: D5 Creation | Powered by: WordPress